Governance Board

Project ABC’s Governance Board is a group of distinguished individuals and leaders who represent the leadership of city, county, state and nonprofit organizations serving children from birth through five years old in Los Angeles County.

On the Project ABC Governance Board, these representatives come together with family members to influence policy change and to work to transform systems in order to reduce barriers and provide coordinated, family-friendly services. The Board meets several times throughout the year to collaborate and provide direction to Project ABC.

Governance Board Members

Linda Aragon
Director- Mental, Child and Adolescent Health Programs
Department of Public Health

William Arroyo, MD
Principal Investigator
Los Angeles County Department of Mental Health

Luis Bautista
Assistant Director – Program Design & Effectiveness (PDE) Unit
Head Start – State Preschool
Los Angeles County Office of Education

Kim Belshe
Executive Director
First 5 LA

Liza Bray
Partners for Children South LA

Maribel Chavez
Former Key Family Contact
For the Child

Richard Cohen
Former Director
Project ABC

Sonia Contreras
Regional Administrator
Department of Children and Family Services

Susan Friedman
Los Angeles County Mental Health Commission

Kalene Gilbert
Program Manager III
Department of Mental Health

Shalice Gosey
Key Family Contact
Shields for Family

Dexter Henderson
South Central LA Regional Center (SCLARC)

Mike Jackson
CEO, Drew Child Development Corporation
Department of Children and Family Services

Heidi Kent
Executive Director
South LA, LABioMed WIC

Lawrence Lue
Mental  Health Commissioner
Mental Health Commission

Agustin Martinez
Regional Administrator
Department of Children and Family Services

Carrie Miller
Office of Child Protection

Adriana E. Molina, MS, LFMT
Director, Project ABC
Children’s Institute, Inc.

Michael Nash
Executive Director
Los Angeles County Office of Child Protection

Wende Nichols-Julien
CEO, Court Appointed Special Advocates (CASA) LA
Edelman Children’s Court

Marie Poulsen
Associate Director
Professor of Clinical Pediatrics
USC UCEDD Children’s Hospital LA

Merilla Scott
Mental  Health Commissioner
Mental Health Commission

Jonathan Sherin
Director of Mental Health
Department of Mental Health

Martine Singer
Children’s Institute, Inc.

Dorian Traube
USC/School of Social Work

Emily Williams
Board of Supervisors – 2nd District